The Walter Trumbauer Secondary Theatre Festival


The Walter Trumbauer Festival has provided quality training and performance opportunities for Alabama theatre students at the secondary level since 1940. The educational impact of this event is substantial. The festival consists of 30 individual events, a one act play festival, a studio theatre one act play festival—all for 9th through 12th grades, as well as scholarship auditions and college screening for high school seniors and junior college students. Students qualify for the state competition by earning a rating of “superior” at one of seven district festivals. At all levels of competition, students receive critiques from qualified teachers, professionals and theatre practitioners, allowing them to improve their theatrical skills. The state festival kicks off with the scholarship audition session on Thursday evening. High school seniors and junior college students compete for six $1000 ACT Scholarships. Friday and Saturday events culminate in an Awards Ceremony where trophies, plaques, medals, and other awards are presented to recognize outstanding work in technical categories and performance areas. Two one act productions are chosen to represent Alabama at the Southeastern Theatre Conference in the spring.


For Download:

2018 Director Manual
2018 Judge Manual
2018 Tech Manual
ACT Membership Application  
  • Mandatory for all ACT Participants beginning 9/1/2018: students and teachers
  • Give all completed/signed 2 page membership forms in a envelope to your Chair at District Festival
2018 District Judge Form



  • ACT Festival Director: Sue Ellen Gerrells,
  • Chair: Jason Bozeman, Southside High School
  • Vice Chair:  Sara Butler Argiro, DeKalb County Fine Arts School


District Schedule: All competitions are November 3, 2018 at various locations:


District 1: Nov.3. Bob Jones High School, Chair Barton Craft, Email:

District 2: Nov. 3. Corner High School, Chair Megan Garner, Email:

District 3: Nov. 3. Florence High School, Chair Jennifer Kilpatrick, Email:

District 4: Nov. 3. Opelika Arts Center, Chair Revel Gholston, Email:

District 5: Nov. 3. Baker High School, Chair Alex Silva, Email:

District 6: Nov. 3. Mountain Brook High School, Chair Jesse Tilton, Email:

District 7: Nov. 3. Jacksonville State University, Chair Cody Hays, Email:


Click Here for State ACT Scholarship Audition Information


State Schedule: The State Festival will be held Nov. 29 (Scholarship Auditions), Nov. 30 and Dec. 1 at Troy University, Troy, Alabama. 

Questions should be addressed to, 205-483-2282, PO Box 1983, Pelham, AL  35124


District REGISTRATION:  Opens Sept. 1, 2018. To register online:

  1. Log into  
  2. Enter your four digit username and password. If you don’t have this information or don’t remember your assigned username/password, email
  4. If you need a copy of the ACT W-9 for processing payment, download here ACT W-9 2018